The European Union prolongs its sanctions against Russia for the crisis in Ukraine

On 15 September 2016, the European Council decided to prolong by another 6 months, until 15 March 2017, the restrictive measures against Russia for actions violating Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence. These sanctions, consisting of asset freezes and travel bans against 146 persons and 37 entities, were initially approved in March 2014 as a response to the crisis in Ukraine.

The latest European Council’s assessment of the situation did not justify a change in the regime of sanctions, nor in the list of persons and entities under restrictive measures.

The list of persons and entities under restrictive measures can be found at the following LINK.


Pietro Michea